Good Mail Day

I gave oat bran another try for breakfast this morning!

Heather suggested that I soak the oat bran overnight to add some volume, so I finally remembered to prepare it last night 🙂 Look how big it is! (That’s what she said) So much more filling. I topped it with half a banana and a special kind of nut butter- Kat‘s cranberry almond butter! More on that later 🙂

Lunch was leftover soup-

And pumpkin yogurt-

My long run never happened today. I was planning on running home from school, but it started raining in between classes, so I was mentally preparing myself to go home and have lunch instead. It wasn’t raining when I got out, but I was so hungry I went home instead 🙂

I ended up doing my faster, shorter run today. I had planned on five miles, but only had time to do four. I finished in 35:56 (8:59) pace. It was so hard! For me, that’s a pretty fast pace, and I was definitely feeling it. I definitely need to do more of those runs if I want to maintain that pace for 9 more miles!

I had an apple with PB after my run, and spaghetti squash for dinner.

So much going on in this bowl- a whole spaghetti squash on the bottom, topped with broccoli, tofu, tomato sauce, spinach, and feta. I’m aware that this looks like a serving dish, but I ate the whole thing 🙂

I also ate a pint of ice cream after dinner. I saw Rabbit Hole with some friends and couldn’t resist going to Sprouts for a pint of Arctic Zero!

I was tagged by Heather and Lauren for two different awards- the Versatile Blogger and 7 Facts Blog Awards!

I’ve already written random facts about me before, but since I am incredibly vain like doing stuff like this, I thought I would come up with seven more 🙂

1. I didn’t get my driver’s license until I was 18, and I failed my test the first time because I hit a pole at the end of my test (automatic fail!) A week after I got my license, I backed into a car, and a few months later I sideswiped my friend’s car and backed into a pole and knocked my side mirror off in the same night. I haven’t hit anything since- knock on wood! I swear I am really not a bad driver…

2. I don’t consider myself overly paranoid about germs but I cannot stand public bathrooms. Going into one actually makes me feel physically uncomfortable, and I have to rip off toilet paper in a specific way to make sure that no one else has touched it.

3. I’ve been told that Cameron from Ferris Bueller’s Day Off and I have similar personalities… I think it’s the hypochondria.

4. I have to write notes really neatly in class, and I will spend way more time than necessary recopying them if they don’t turn out well the first time.

5. I can’t read a map or give directions to save my life- I have lived in the same city my whole life and couldn’t tell you how to get anywhere!

6. If I could talk to my teenage self, I would tell myself that sneaking off to Denny’s in the middle of the night with your co-workers will only lead to getting grounded and gaining weight and NOT WORTH IT!

7. Very few things make me happier than getting / sending mail. I love to make cards for the holidays and send them to my grandparents and friends that live out of the state, and I love getting packages…

…especially from fellow bloggers!

I won Kat‘s giveaway last week, and I was so pleased to see a package on my doorstep yesterday!

Look at these goods! Three boxes of this tea, which I am so excited to try-

Some delicious looking snack bars (unpictured, as they are hiding from my brother, the human trash compactor)

And behold… the most delicious nut butter I have ever tried.

I have tried a lot of nut butters in my day, so I am taking this very seriously- best nut butter in the history of nut butters. Cranberry almond butter- what is not to love? It tastes like a snickerdoodle cookie all blended up and covered in cranberries. Thank you Kat!!!

Excuse me while I go back for another spoonful fingerful. This stuff is like crack!

What’s the last good thing you got in the mail?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Good Mail Day

  1. greekmelie says:

    That’s so unfair! I only get bills in the mail… So, do you have someone to support your claim of being a good driver? 😛 Back in Greece, the legal age for getting your driving license is 18 and I didn’t get mine until I was 20. Never liked driving. I still don’t, but surviving in LA car-less is just impossible.

  2. Cranberry almond butter sounds amazing! I’ve been getting some fab goodies in the post recently including Crazy, Sexy, Diet book which I honestly can’t stop reading 🙂

  3. Hannah says:

    White chocolate tea! Wow! Also, the soaking oatbran… do you soak it before or after cooking? I love oatbran 🙂

  4. I got a fab load of hearbal teas the other day. I do love it when the postman is being kind to me 🙂

  5. I love good mail! On Tuesday I got some nut butter too 🙂 It’s delish!

  6. HAHAH omg i cannot read maps either!!!!!! i have a great sense of direction but with maps.. im LOST.. okay im def goin to try soaking my oat bran! look at that volume!

  7. oh wait.. how much liquid would you need to soak it in for 1/2 cup of oat bran?

  8. OMG that tea???? YUM. I must find that. Love your facts!

  9. I just got like two cases of Organic Canned Pumpkin!!!!!! 😉 AND I got some Stevia stuff. 🙂 I am one happy girl! 😀 Your Oatbran sounds INCREDIBLE! 😀

    Cranberry Almond Butter sounds AMAZING!!! KAT, I want some too! 😀

    xoxox,
    Kathleen

  10. omg cranberry almomd butter? Wherever did you find this stuff! DElish!

  11. Alaina says:

    I just got my first issue of Clean Eating magazine!! I’m so excited to make some dishes from it. 🙂

  12. Kat says:

    So so glad you like it!! Now that I know you like my nut butter, I may just have to send you some random batches, just cause I like you 😉
    Sprouts is seriously my FAVORITE store. I go every week. The deals on produce are incredible! Im totally going there today btw lol. I may just have to pick up some artic zero as well!

  13. runyogarepeat says:

    Mmm yum! I love getting mail, especially at school. The last thing I got in my mailbox was actually an empty letter from my school? I was so confused, I think they just forgot to put the letter inside it.

  14. Heather says:

    Christmas presents from my Mom, and waiting for the shirt i ordered from Victoria’s Secret now!

    I want to try that nut butter now!

  15. Casey says:

    Snail mail is highly underrated.
    I love the anticipation before you open the letter/package!!

  16. The last thing I got in the mail was also a blog give-away! I loved winning something since I never do! They were crack-brownies and they were amazing! It was a huge batch so they’re currently chilling my freezer waiting for the next craving to occur! Too funny about your notes, you would not want to see my class notes. I’m pretty sure I am the only one who can read them.

  17. Cranberry Almond Butter sounds amazing! I can only imagine what it feels like to eat a snickerdoodle tasting almond butter! YUMM!

    I can’t believe you hit a pole. Seriously that made my day. Love you Kate!

    # 6 made me laugh out loud too! But hey! WEIGHT brought us all healthy happily here to the blog world! 🙂 and also I hate sloppy notes too! DRIVES. ME. CRAZY.

  18. ~Jessica~ says:

    My juicer and spiralizer came recently, plus Paula Radcliffe’s autobiography. Ooh, and some raw goodies I ordered too. So lots of nice things have come in the mail. Sadly none of them were free though!

    Nut butter sounds amazing…I think I’d eat the entire jar in one go.

    Arctic zero has virtually no calories anyway, so I wouldn’t worry about eating the entire pint!

    xxx

  19. Nice win with that nut butter! Lucky you 🙂
    The last good thing I got in the mail was the stuff I ordered from the low carb site – at least it wasnt a bill!

  20. I’m with you on the driving – after getting my license I was a disaster of accidents until i moved to cities in which cars are not needed 🙂

    I just got my new iphone in the mail today – major win!

  21. Danielle says:

    I got a Christmas card from my aunt a month late, haha (it was accidentally delivered to the wrong address, sent back, and mailed again).

    That nut butter sounds sooo good!

  22. Jenny says:

    I keep forgetting to try oat bran! Everyone mixes it with their oatmeal and it looks amazing! Love the fun facts about you 😀

  23. Thumbs up on the TWSS. 😉

  24. I love that you said “that’s what she said.” My husband says that all the time. He is so immature, but it still cracks me up.

  25. Wow – that nut butter sounds amazing! My mouth is actually watering thinking about how it might taste 🙂

  26. Ahh! Love snailmail! It’s always so great! 🙂

  27. AlisonM says:

    Good going on the sub-9:00 m/m run! The speed will come in no time if you keep at it 🙂

    And lol at you and that nut butter: I know exactly what you mean when you say it’s like crack!

  28. where did you get that tea it sounds amazing!

  29. You haven’t tried chocolate espresso almond butter if you think that is the best ever 😉

  30. Priyanka says:

    White chocolate tea sounds lovely! Nah, I get only paper in mail, no gifts like these.

  31. oooh lucky girl, I totally wanted to try that tea! 🙂 The last cool thing I got in the mail was stevia that from a giveaway I won, cant complain about that!

  32. mmm crack butter…. ahaha! =) What a fabulous little delivery! ❤ Congrats on your win and your awards! ❤

  33. Lisa says:

    I got my new Merrell barefoot running shoes in the mail today!!! I was so excited…and even though I can’t run right now, they still were awesome on the elliptical thing. They have the vibram soles, but not separated toes (so I think they’re cuter!)

  34. I can only imagine how awesome that cran almond butter is… I made a bowl of brown rice farina topped with almond butter and TJ’s cranberry apple butter a couple weeks back and that mixture was also insanely good! Speaking of… I need to make that again! 🙂

  35. Ellie says:

    How fun getting something in the mail! Isn’t it just so heart warming when something’s waiting at your doorstep? You make that butter sound so good…haha ❤

  36. bakebooks says:

    How was that movie!?

    Oh your dish is nothing compared to mine…I think I eat a pound of vegetables with squash and meat late every night…followed by chocolate…and ice cream 😉

    What a run! I would have stayed on the couch – your doing awesome 🙂

    LOL @ #4 – I can so relate from back in “the day”. It got to a point though where time was too busy and too much work – and I short-handed all my notes and couldn’t understand them at all later!

  37. Kat says:

    The last thing I got in the mail that I loved was either my Ebates check or the Lilly Pulitzer catalog.

    I didn’t get my license until I was 18 either! It just wasn’t happening for me and there were loads of people to chaffeur me – I’m really fine not driving pretty much all of the time 😉

  38. BrittFit says:

    Love this post! your dinner looks like something I would totally eat for dinner…yay veggies! haha

  39. bahaha love the Denny’s one! Sneaking out is so overreated and the reward is never as great as the risk, or consequence I guess I should say…. I love getting stuff in the mail! I haven’t won a giveaway yet, I wasn’t blessed with the luck gene 😦

  40. eatspinlive says:

    Pumpkin yogurt sounds AMAZING! 🙂

  41. Oh my gosh to #1!! It’s amazing your still alive! No seriously, I wrecked my car after only having my license for 2 months! Thank God my dad is a master “fix everything man” and got it back into a drivable state!

    Love your TWSS! Hahaha!

    I love getting mail! Even if it’s just a magazine subscription! Last great thing I got was TJ’s peanut flour! Yes!!!!

  42. Monica says:

    I haven’t received anything good in the mail for a long time, but it would be hard to beat your delivery. Those items, especially the tea sound fantastic!

Leave a Reply

