Night Prowler

Breakfast was an old favorite with a new favorite!

I made an applesauce breakfast cookie and topped it with the rest of the nut butter Kat gave me. Yes, it is already gone. Yes, I am a greedy nut butter eater and did not share with anyone else πŸ™‚

Easy breezy lunch-

My lunches have been really uncreative lately, but it’s about eating what you love- and I do love burritos, pumpkin yogurt, and apples with peanut butter πŸ™‚

Speaking of Kat… I saw a recipe for quinoa flax pizza crust on her blog today and gave it a try for dinner.

I topped the crust with hummus and spinach. I was too lazy and hungry to do much else, but it was really good! It kind of reminds me of an oatmeal bread my mom used to make.

In lieu of my nightly bowl of ice cream, I had another sweet treat- the white chocolate tea I showed you yesterday.

I like most kinds of tea, but this one was especially delicious! Not too sweet, and it really tastes like white chocolate. So happy I have three boxes of this stuff πŸ™‚

Lately, I’ve been eating bigger dinners, and combined with ice cream and other snacks after dinner, I’ve been waking up still full- never a good feeling. Heather wrote a post about this that I found really helpful. I never used to snack at night, but now that I’ve been doing it more often, I feel like my body is getting used to it. I’m not actually hungry after dinner- quite the opposite- so I know my need for a snack is a mental thing.

I have no problem eating dessert every day (obviously πŸ™‚ ) but I also feel as though I’ve been eating a bit too many sweets, which is crowding out my vegetable / fruit consumption.

What to do about this? I think I’m going to take Heather’s cue and start eating fruit after dinner instead of whatever I can scrounge up from the kitchen. I never feel like a meal is finished until I have something sweet, so I think fruit will be the perfect way to end dinner without feeling too full.

Are you a night snacker?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Night Prowler

  1. I’m just like you with eating dessert every day. I try to have a healthier type of dessert and if I’m still craving something sweet I drink tea.
    I don’t think I’m really a night snacker but I know that my biggest meal is dinner. Mostly because its the only time I have to really eat during the day.
    I also saw Kat’s recipe and thought it looked so delicious!

  2. kat says:

    I knew I should have made you more!! I just wasn’t sure if you’d like it or not. Owell, now I know for next time πŸ™‚
    I am a total night snacker. Sometimes it really bad. Ill eat several spoonfuls of peanut butter followed by whatever else I can get my hands on. I’ve kind of figured it out (need more protein!!) But sometimes I still go crazy!

  3. greekmelie says:

    On a normal day, I am not a snacker at all. I am kind of a volume eater so I need a significant amount of food to feel full. Lately though, that I was staying at work until late and had no time to cook, I have been snacking non stop from the time I return home until I sleep. And I have been overeating. I think I should start cooking again. Your meals looks tasty and fast. πŸ™‚

  4. Alaina says:

    I am definitely a night snacker. I usually always have a bowl of cereal before I go to bed.

  5. Gina says:

    I’m a HUGE night snacker. It’s so bad. I can’t end dinner without dessert. And I’ll usually have popcorn and some dry cereal later on in the night.

  6. Casey says:

    I have to end a meal with something sweet too!
    But lately I’ve been eating my biggest meals in the middle of the day because I am ravenous when I get home from class. So during the evening I don’t have much of an appetite.

  7. Erica D says:

    Nowadays I have rugby practice at night, so I’ve been having a filling snack around 5 p.m. and eating actual dinner around 8:30 p.m.
    SO college. Not the ideal, but I go to bed (hopefully) a few hours after that and I’m good! If I want a snack, it’s all mental, or just a sweet craving.

  8. AlisonM says:

    I definitely used to be a night snacker, and like you, I used to hate waking up not hungry. I kill it now with a cup of (non-caffeinated) tea and a couple of pieces of dark chocolate. And then I brush my teeth!

  9. i usually have one snack.. a nanner with pb and a few veg choc chips or an apple with peanut flour paste.. something like that!.. i need something sweet too! its easy to eat healthy quick ‘desserts’… i love the sound of that quinoa crust!

  10. I like snacking at night. I usually make sure I leave a little room after dinner for a little snack afterwards. Greek yogurt mixed with dark chocolate dreams peanut butter is my fav snack – so delicious!

  11. I must try the breakfast cookie. I still have yet to give it a go. I always want something sweet after dinner, not late mind you, just right after dinner. Typically I can take care of the craving with a caramel rice cake. It doesn’t take much thankfully. πŸ˜‰

    Oh, and if I am really feeling snacky, I brush my teeth instead!

  12. Kristina says:

    I like that quinoa flax crust idea-perfection! I’m an all day all the time snacker…

  13. runyogarepeat says:

    I’m a night snacker, but I agree, if I eat more veggies or fruit with or after dinner, I’m much less likely to snack. I obviously still eat dessert or a treat each day though!

  14. Monica says:

    I use to be a big time night eater, but I hated going to bed feeling full. So I started either having 20 g. of dark chocolate, sliced orange, or 1/4 cup of raisins – this helped a ton as I discovered that I didn’t want a snack, I just wanted a sweet flavor. πŸ™‚

  15. Dates stuffed with peanut butter has been the answer to my sweet cravings lately… so good! πŸ™‚

  16. Danielle says:

    I used to be a big nighttime snacker, but I’m trying to cut back on it. Lately I’ve been just eating something small and sweet, or if I want to munch, a lot of celery/carrots with a little low-fat ranch. Tea is also wonderful for sipping at night.

  17. paijery says:

    I am such a late night snacker!! I usually eat a choco vitatop smothered with nut butter and then an orange or a grapefruit. And then I brush my teeth so I don’t keep snackin lol πŸ˜€

  18. Mandy says:

    I’m soo a night snacker-dang it! I’ve been trying NOT to do this by keeping busy in the evenings (especially painting my nails-I can’t snack with wet nails:) and also drinking hot tea helps-like that white chocolate one you have! Sounds delish! Warmness FEELS like fullness to me, so that always helps me curb my craving.

  19. I do like a snack in the evening, but I try and stay away from the kitchen late at night. The feeling of a heavy stomach before bed time is not so appealing to me anymore. Although it is hard.

  20. I’m in the process of monitoring my night snacking… I often like to end dinner with something sweet, but my little handful of chocolate chips or teaspoon of pb was turning into 5 hands full of chocolate chips or 5 spoons of pb. Then combining them together… it was getting out of control!

  21. Olivia says:

    I am the QUEEN of nighttime snacks! Seriously, including dinner I have to have at least 1500 calories between the hours of like 6-12…other wise I’d be starving! But it can get pretty bad, like I get dessert and then something salty, and then more dessert, and then more salty stuff..it never ends!

    • bakebooks says:

      Oh God – I could hug you right now…I am so the same way. And I eat dinner really late too. It makes me so self-conscious and guilty. I KNOW I shouldn’t be, etc etc and so many others can refrain and just drink tea – but I can’t do it. Maybe one day….I’m tired of fighting myself over it though. You seem to be more okay with it! But maybe I’m not because it really does make me feel like crap.

      With that said – Kate – I want that tea!! πŸ™‚

  22. I try to have the healthiest stuff possible so I can give into a little night snacking =) usually cheesy crackers or goldfish is what I crave. If I want sweet i’ll have a 100cal nonnis biscotti or a fruity tea and that usually fixes it! ❀

  23. I usually have a snack/dessert in the evening, but I make sure it is healthy, like fruit or veggies. πŸ™‚ Fruit is SO good! It is by far my favorite dessert!

    Your Applesauce Breakfast Cookie looks so good! Especially with the Nut Butter on it! πŸ˜€ I just had Oats with Peanut Butter for lunch today. πŸ™‚ Peanuts and Oats were made for each other.

    xoxox,
    Kathleen

  24. I eat dessert everyday and I need to stop!! But I dont know how??
    Dessert is kind of a way of telling myself to stop eating!

  25. Errign says:

    Especially when I am PMSing. Then, I am ALL OVER the salty and sweet snacks. Really not a good habit to get into lol.

  26. “I think I’m going to take Heather’s cue and start eating fruit after dinner instead of whatever I can scrounge up from the kitchen.”–

    according to food combining principles, one should always eat fruit FIRST. And alone. Meaning eat it first, then wait at least a half hour to an hour before eating other things. I dont necessarily believe in food combining, just pointing it out as food for thought. Eating fruit last can give many ppl bloating and indigestion. AGain, not for everyone just rambling here πŸ™‚

    Whatever you do girl, make yourself happy!

  27. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    I don’t like to eat late at night because it makes me feel so full and I also can’t sleep well. I try not to eat anything solid anymore after dinner, and this usually goes quite well. I also drink a lot of tea. The most important thing is to break the habit, I think, or prevent it from establishing at all.

  28. Hannah says:

    I’m actually a terrible, terrible night snacker. I have 4-5 dessert-type snacks every night… oops!

  29. Jessica says:

    I’m definitely a night snacker!! I would probably rather snack throughout the evening than eat a big meal… but I usually eat my “meal” and then have another snack or two.

  30. Emily says:

    I am a serious night snacker. I try to eat fruit, but sometimes it doesn’t cut it when I want something salty. I like to eat a few pretzel sticks to curb my salt cravings usually. If I really want something sweet and delicious and I’m trying to avoid grabbing a cupcake, I love to bake apples with some cinnamon! Soooooo yummy πŸ™‚ Tea definitely helps, and that white chocolate tea sounds AMAZING!

  31. Tea has really be working for me! Especially last night, I felt like munching on whatever I had around but I told myself to go for tea and it worked!

    Any luck with the nighttime snacking? I know you can do it girl!

  32. I’m all about night snacking! I think I’m so used to it now though, I don’t wake up full… which is probably a bad thing πŸ™‚

  33. I was never really a late night snacker until a couple of weeks ago. Now I feel like I’m automatically programmed to walk into the kitchen for something sweet 2 hours or so after dinner. I know it’s just a mental thing, but I can’t seem to just ignore it! Lately I’ve been going at my jars of nut butter with just about anything I can get to scoop it out with…and sadly none of those items are fruits or veggies! It may be due to the fact that I was procrastinating going grocery shopping for a while, so hopefully now that my stock in produce is back up, I can ween myself off the sweets and try having one piece of fruit instead or maybe just a cup of tea and then a quick brush of the teeth!

Leave a Reply

