Good Things Come To Those Who Run

I tried to fight it off, but it looks like a cold caught up to me last night. Nothing like a warm breakfast to soothe a sore throat!

I had some voluminous oat bran topped with a chocolate Vitatop. Ahhh, much better 🙂

Before work, I headed to Panera to do a little studying. I stuck to mostly decaf coffee- no Spidey vision for me today!

I got stuck talking to a co-worker after work, so I didn’t have time to go to cycling like I had planned. Instead, I headed home to make lunch.

I roasted half a turnip, broccoli, and a potato to crispy perfection. I’m always so happy when I take the time to roast veggies- they really taste so much better that way.

Pumpkin yogurt was eaten shortly after-

I can’t get enough cinnamon Cheerios. I have to get them while I can (aka, before my brother devours them)

Happy apple with PB-

I had several options for exercise today-

A. Skip cycling and go to the gym for the elliptical

B. Do my long run today, before I get too sick and before it rains all weekend

C. Lay on my couch, wallow in my sorrows and regret not doing my run

I was really, really close to picking option C, but I went with option B and am SO glad I did! This is the third time I’ve trained for a big race, and within the first week, I have always gotten sick and it has always started raining. Just my luck, huh?

I had 7 miles on the agenda, so I told myself to suck it up and just do it. So, so glad it’s over with.

I love the way the sky looks before it rains- when it’s still sunny, but you can see the dark clouds coming in.

I managed to knock out 7 miles in 1:06:50- a 9:32/min mile pace! It didn’t even feel that hard, either. I don’t want to jinx myself- but I think I am getting a little faster 🙂 10:30 used to be my comfortable pace!

I was happy to come home so I could EAT!

Introducing- a delicious dinner born out of a conflicting desire to eat both oatmeal and cheese together.

Sweet and Cheesy Oatmeal Cookie

Ingredients (Base):

  • 5 tbsp oats
  • 2 tbsp egg whites
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder

Directions:

  • Mix all ingredients in a shallow, microwave safe bowl and microwave for 2-3 minutes.

Toppings:

2 tablespoons Greek yogurt

1/4 cup feta cheese

A caramelized onion

2 tablespoons dried cranberries

This was amazing. The base is the applesauce breakfast cookie I had yesterday, just without cinnamon. The whole dish is sweet and savory- my favorite combination!

Dessert-

I know I said I was going to try to stop snacking at night, but I made a conscious decision to eat this, so I don’t feel bad about it.

Not going to lie- I actually decided I was going to get this as a reward for going on my run. Considering I was ready to scrap my long run altogether, I thought I deserved a little reward. I know you’re not supposed to reward yourself with food, but let’s be honest- we could always use a little push out the door once in a while, and if I know I’m going to be enjoying a pint of ice cream as a result of going on said long run, I’m going to go 🙂

Do you ever reward yourself for doing something you really don’t want to do? I feel like a dog rewarding myself with food, but hey- whatever works!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Good Things Come To Those Who Run

  1. Emily says:

    that cheesy oatmeal cookies looks AWESOMEEEEEEEE.
    maybe its just because feta and cranberries are probably my favorite thing ever 🙂

  2. Gina says:

    Love that savory oatmeal cookie!

    How’d you like that Arctic Zero ice cream? I had high hopes and was really let down 😦

  3. Yep, I love rewards. 😉 They are THE best. 🙂 Great run girl! YAY for getting faster! 🙂
    xoxo
    Kathleen

  4. Heather says:

    Great job on the run! I reward myself for long runs with a night of my favorite tv shows and r&r on my couch. And maybe gummy bears too!

  5. HOLY SMOKES! You have such quick little creations I LOVE IT! So trying that cheesy oat cookie!! ahh!

    And I totally bought cinnamon cheerios a few days ago and have already had half the box they are SOOOO GOOOOD!!!

    I’m totally that chick who exercises to eat. And feel good. But food is whats on my mind for reward. I mean..hey its more tangible and I can put it in ma’ belly!

  6. squigglefloey says:

    Where did you find Artic Zero in So cal? My friend was trying to find em but she mentioned not seeing them anywhere!

  7. AlisonM says:

    Good work on getting out for that run — and a really good pace too. Go you! And yes, I TOTALLY reward myself 😀

  8. I do reward myself with food sometimes but when it’s after a long run I know I really did earn it and need to refuel! My reward of choice is usually big pancake I’m thinking about during the last few miles of long runs! It’s awesome that you did you’re run though!

  9. ~Jessica~ says:

    Yeah, I bribe myself with food all of the time. I don’t think it’s such a problem in your case though because the amounts you ‘reward’ yourself with are appropriate and sensible, not gratuitously excessive like me.

    And Arctic Zero isn’t a ‘real’ pint of ice cream anyway: it’s not as though you worked your way through a tub of Ben and Jerry’s!

    xxx

  10. im so bad at rewarding myself.. i NEVER give myself credit! i LOVE your savory oatmeal cookie thangg and WOW so impressed that you chose a long run!! esp when option C was very very nice sounding!

  11. runyogarepeat says:

    Cheesy oatmeal cookie? I need to make this asap! You definitely made the right choice to choose the long run – and not have to worry about it this weekend. Earlier this week, I was so out of energy, but I decided to go for a run (even though I realllyyy didn’t want to). It ended up being the best & fastest one in a while, so I rewarded myself with chocolate 🙂

  12. Good job knocking out that run. Hope the sore throat gets better not worse!

  13. Danielle says:

    I sometimes reward myself with food, but since I generally just eat whatever anyways, it doesn’t work well.
    I’m so impressed you went on the long run! I totally would have chosen C!

  14. Well done on your run thats awesome! Hope your cold doesn’t get too bad. I love roasted veggies too 🙂

  15. Peggy says:

    I’m definitely rewarding myself for finishing that 5k this morning! Did it in less than 34 minutes (and I allotted my out-of-shape self 36!) Might make a tasty treat this weekend! =)

  16. Great job on that run! Sometimes getting dressed and going out for the run is the hardest part. Once it’s over, you feel great.

  17. Monica says:

    I think rewarding yourself is important. It shows that you appreciate the work you put into making yourself healthy and happy. And you know, there are worse things to reward yourself with then ice cream. I say enjoy! 🙂

  18. Haha! Sometimes you just gotta do whatever works. 😉 And if food gets you out there running then I say it’s a win!

  19. Euniece says:

    i have to admit, sometimes getting myself out on the road for the run is like pulling teeth. but there is one thing i know for sure. after i am done going for my run, i never regret the decision.

  20. Priyanka says:

    The savory oatmeal cookie sounds so good and I love the toppings you added to it.

  21. Olivia says:

    Omigawd! That oat dinner looks fantastic!! Have you ever tried laughing cow cheese in your oats? It’s unbelievably creamy and delicious:) Oat bran + vitatop is delicious too, I love that combo! So glad that you did your run and got it over with; I totally know how you feel and would’ve regretted big time if I’d skipped it. Good for you girl!

  22. Lisa says:

    Awesome that you went for the run—-and I totally think it’s worth rewarding yourself for. I reward myself for things all the time and call it giving myself “prizes.” It motivates me…so it totally works for me 🙂

  23. Kat says:

    I’m SO That Person who rewards themselves with food 🙂

    And agree – roasting veggies can be a bit time consuming sometimes but the end result is NEVER disappointing.

  24. Alaina says:

    I love your dishes! That sweet and savory dish, I never would have thought of. Looks delicious!

    I usually reward my long runs too. It does make them more tolerable. 😉

  25. Jenny says:

    Like that breakfast cookie! I hope you get better girl, I know how a cold can totally slow down your day. I love vitatop in my breakfast too, super delish 🙂

  26. Nice run! I definitely reward myself when I do stuff I don’t necessarily want to do. Sometimes food is definitely involved in the reward – you’re right, whatever works!

    P.S. totally agree on roasting veggies – so much more delicious!

  27. I always get sick after I start running too! It happens with too much regularity for me to call it a coincidence, so I choose to believe that it’s my body cleansing itself or something along those lines 🙂

  28. Errign says:

    I love roasted veggies too – my current favorite combo is carrots, brussels, broccoli, and onion.

    I absolutely reward myself for things. If it’s like a big task – like getting tons of stuff done during a really busy school week, then I’ll get something big, like a camera. Small things are food treats or pedicures or a new shirt or jeans. 🙂

  29. Erika says:

    Good for you, fighting the urge to be lazy! I need to follow your lead. 😉
    That breakfast cookie looks delicious. Feta & cranberries are AWESOME together!

  30. omg everyone is taunting me with these vitatops and cinnamon cheerios! I haven’t remembered to buy/try either of them and I want to sooo bad! ❤

    good things totally come to those who run… but I am a lazy bird and can't seem to get my tush out the door and on the pavement some days! I wish you were my neighbor so you could make me run! ❤

  31. emily says:

    hope you feel better soon…tis the season for nasty colds. ugghh.
    great job on your run, too!

  32. Jessica says:

    Great job on the 7 miles, it is awesome that you’ve gotten so fast! I’m bad about rewarding myself, but I do usually indulge more after a long run.

  33. I just found your blog! I’ve been looking for a savory oatmeal recipe! Thanks for sharing, so much!!

  34. I totally reward myself… and I have no problem rewarding myself with delicious food either 🙂

  35. I love rewarding myself, but honestly, I don’t do it enough! I treated myself to a hot stone massage on Friday. I can’t even remember the last time I had one of those! But boy did I need it, especially after having to recover from that night shift!

    Awesome run time girlie! You little speed demon!

Leave a Reply

