And the Oscar Goes To…

Ice on my car, ice in my breakfast 🙂

Even though the ‘big storm’ that everyone in California was freaking out about never really came, it must have gotten really cold last night. I spent ten minutes scraping ice off my car this morning! Luckily it didn’t make me late for cycling. After a good workout, I was ready for a good breakfast. Cake batter smoothie made with chocolate protein powder instead of the vanilla I had been using, topped with a Vitatop = perfection.

I feel like I have always smoothies for lunch on Sundays. I think that’s because I always buy way too much spinach at Costco and have to find a way to use it!

I had an apple with peanut butter (times two!) and strawberries as well.

Followed by pumpkin yogurt-

Dinner was hastily made while watching the Oscars! I made a savory oatmeal cookie and topped it with black beans and Greek yogurt. Not as good as the cheesy version 🙂

(I also inhaled about two more pounds of strawberries, some clementines, and a few handfuls of cereal after dinner and I think I’m honestly going to starve to death… why am I so hungry today?!)

I kind of live for the Oscars each year. I totally fill out the ballot and everything- I only got half of the winners right, though. Boo!

Thoughts of the night!

Favorite dress-

(source)

I think most people probably hated this dress, but I loved it! All she needs is a brush to comb her hair with 🙂

Best Supporting Actress-

(Source)

SO glad she won! I loved Amy Adams and Hailee Steinfeld too, but no one compared to Melissa Leo. Also, she dropped the f-bomb on national TV and that makes her my hero.

Best Supporting Actor-

(Source)

I was really surprised by how much I loved this movie. Christian Bale deserves an Oscar for pretty much every movie he’s been in (except Batman 🙂 ) so I was really happy he won. Also, his beard tonight was epic. Terrifying, but epic.

Best Actress-

(Source)

I knew she was going to win, but I was still disappointed! I saw all of the movies that were nominated in this category and she would have been my last choice. It wasn’t that she was bad- it was that Annette Bening and Michelle Williams were better 🙂

Best Actor-

(Source)

I didn’t see this movie, but I don’t doubt that Colin Firth was good in it. I would have liked to see Jesse Eisenberg win, though.

Best Picture-

(Source)

Again, I didn’t see it, so I can’t say whether it deserved it or not. I think Blue Valentine should have been nominated and won. That’s definitely the best movie I’ve seen lately!

Best Former Oscar Winner-

(Source)

Sean Penn has nothing to do with this year’s Oscars, I just wanted to include him because he’s the love of my life. He wasn’t even there this year! Why, Sean, why?! I miss your smug smile!

Did you watch the Oscars this year?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to And the Oscar Goes To…

  1. paijery says:

    Ahhaha I love Sean Penn too!
    My jaw dropped when Melissa Leo dropped the eff bomb! Too funny!!
    I LOVED Mila Kunis’s dress!

  2. Casey says:

    I did not watch the oscars. I had a bunch of group projects and am lacking a TV.
    I’ll just catch up on the fashion and gossip in the newspaper tomorrow!

  3. I didn’t watch the Oscars…I probably would’ve been completely lost anyways since out of all the movies you talked about, I’ve seen zero! I really need to catch up with the American entertainment! I feel like I live in a cave!

    PS, if you’re having a hard time finishing that spinach, I’d LOVE to take it off your hands! 😉

  4. Thanks for the oscars update! I love a good smoothie on a Sunday too 🙂

  5. i didnt watch it! it was on SO late for me cuz of time difference. BOO
    I LOVE your oatmeal cookie than made savory.. its just so cute!

  6. I only watched the very beginning, mostly because of my gramma bedtime. I like watching the pre-show for the fashion the most! I liked Michelle Williams and Jennifer Hudson’s dresses best. But there were so many beautiful ones!

  7. I never watch the oscars simple because most of the movies I see way after the oscars! I do like natalie portman though so I’m glad she won!

  8. Ugh, hate scraping ice off windshields. Such a time waster. I didn’t watch the Oscars. I’m probably one of the very few out there who didn’t….

  9. Alaina says:

    I watched it too! And this year I was excited about it. 🙂 I didn’t stay up to watch the whole thing though. I was excited to see Inception win what it did. Because that was the only nominated movie that I saw. I just don’t get out to the movies very much anymore. Too expensive. 😉

  10. Kat says:

    I was totally blown away by the hail that hit us!! I was like what the heck is that noise and I looked outside and the ground was covered in ice!! Not going to lie, I was pretty excited 🙂

  11. The Fighter was such an amazing movie 🙂 So happy Christian Bale and Melissa Leo won!

    My favorite for the night? Celine Dion on the red carpet – can’t believe that woman just had twins!!!

  12. I watched the highlights this morning while I worked out! I love ScarJo’s dress too! Absolutely adore the color! 😀

    Oh gosh, Cake Batter Smoothie!!!! Plus a Vitatop! Girl, you have the best eats! YUM!

    xoxox
    Kathleen

  13. Jess says:

    I loved the King’s Speech, so I was happy with the winners!

  14. Heather says:

    I was bummed that Natalie Portman won too, just don’t think she was the best, my pick was Jennifer Lawrence all the way. And yes, ScarJo needed to brush her hair. Even my boyfriend who has a mad crush on her said she didn’t look that great.

  15. Emily says:

    I actually did end up watching the Oscar’s last night! I’m kind of sad I never got to see The King’s Speech, everyone I know who saw it said it was amazing 🙂 I was really glad Inception won for all of those technical awards because that movie BLEW MY MIND lol… overall I was pretty happy for the outcomes! I really loved Mila Kunis’ dress, I could NEVER in my life pull it off nor do I think that most people could but I think she looked fantastic. I also lovveeddd all of the dresses Anne Hathaway got to wear… she and James Franco were great hosts 🙂

  16. Obviously as a Brit I’m absolutely thrilled that Colin won 🙂 I may have loved him all my life (at least since watching Pride and Prejudice at the age of 11). I always buy way too much spinach too – that’s why it features in nearly every meal I make!

  17. Jenny says:

    So many amazing eats! And I loved Anne Hathways dress or should I say dresses lol Mila look amazing as always. I’m glad that Natalie won, I thought black swan was a fantastic movie 🙂

  18. I still want to see The King’s Speech!

  19. I watched the Oscars as well. I was happy with just about every win. I saw every pic nominated for Best Picture, except for The Fighter. King’s Speech was awesome (one of my favorites) and I am so glad that Colin Furth won. I have to say though that I didn’t feel like Social Network and Kids Are All Right were Oscar worthy. I did enjoy Social Network, but The Kids Are All Right was only so-so for me. I think Julianne Moore deserved the nomination more than Annette Benning.

  20. I LOVE the Oscars! It’s the one time of year I miss having cable! I was able to stream it online this year though so that worked well. Though it started skipping a lot towards the end (boo!)

  21. Errign says:

    I never, ever watch award shows, so blogs are how I catch up. Ohhhh, Sean Penn…I like you.

  22. I didn’t watch the Oscars although I wish I had. All I saw of it were the recaps on the news this morning- looked like a good one with lots of good (and a bit strange) fashion.

    The ice you mentioned reminded me of this past weekend when Michael and I saw reports of possible bad weather for Cali. We had talked previously about possible places to move to, and I mentioned California for their “mild weather”..I kind of got proven wrong on that one..:P But I guess I actually didn’t! haha

  23. I missed the oscars this year so im glad you did a recap 🙂

  24. I’m with you on the best actress award–I love Natalie Portman, but I was holding out hope for Annette Benning!

    Still haven’t seen the King’s Speech, but I need to soon 🙂 Hope you have a good week!

  25. Mandiee says:

    Smoothies for lunch sounds like a great idea to me :). I seem to have that spinach habit, too. Thanks for the Oscars recap; I unfortunately had to miss it this year because I took a practice SAT with my SAT-prep course and then had homework to do. Story of my life.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  26. Kat says:

    1. I definitely watched the Oscars (and I thought ScarJo’s dress was fab).

    2. Scraping ice off of cars (and brushing the snow off of them) is the bane of my existence.

  27. Jenn says:

    I’m so behind on life b/c of blogging — I still haven’t seen Blue Valentine or The King’s Speech and that makes me super sad.. omg I haven’t seen the Fighter either! holy cow what’s wrong with me!?

  28. I totally agree, Scarlet’s dress was my favorite too!

  29. Monica says:

    Haha, I only got to catch the last 40 minutes, and when I saw your Penn picture I got so sad that I missed a Penn moment – then I learned you were only joking. 😉 I LOVE PENN!

Leave a Reply

