Bye, February!

Maybe it’s because February is a short month, but I feel like it went by so quickly! What am I talking about? I say that at the end of every month!

I made some goals for February that I pretty much neglected. Here’s what they were-

Cook for my family one night a week.

I only cooked twice for them, so this was kind of a fail. I made shrimp pizza, which they enjoyed, and I also made them an enchilada casserole that no one ate. It’s hard to find something that everyone will eat, and I’m either working / busy / too lazy to cook a separate meal for them. Also, my mom happened to cook more this month, so they didn’t starve πŸ™‚

Drink 64 oz of water a day.

Uh, MAJOR fail! I think I maybe did this once? I am horrible about drinking water. I really want to work on this, but I hesitate to drink water at school because I hate having to pee all the time!

Take care of moving-related things.

Ugh… another fail. Honestly, it looks like moving to Colorado might not even happen- long story for another time. Please excuse me while I pick my broken heart off the ground.

Spend money more wisely.

I think I did pretty good on this. I’ve hardly bought any new clothes, and I only ate out a few times, which is always a money-suck. This is probably the only goal I did well on πŸ™‚

Do ab work three times a week.

FAIL! I think I made a concerted effort to do ab work on my own once. The other two times were at Body Pump. Whoops!

I’ve decided that my goals for March will be weekly instead of monthly. I think it will be easier for me to keep track of them that way. I’ll post them tomorrow πŸ™‚

Even though I kind of failed at ab work this month, I managed to squeeze some in tonight! I did some random ab work as well as some weight lifting at home.

I planned to go for a hike after school- there’s a canyon about a mile away from the campus that I like to go to sometimes. It’s no Runyon Canyon, but it’s nice when you want to exercise outside. Unfortunately the recent rains turned everything to mud, and the canyon was closed!

Gutted.

Since I was already dressed for a workout and had a few hours to kill before my sister got out of school, I found a neighborhood to explore.

That hill doesn’t look like much- but my glutes were feeling it!

All worth it for this view. So much snow on the mountains! My cell phone camera does not do it justice.

Around 5, I was hit by a serious squash craving. Something had to be done about this. Bike to the rescue!

There’s a Korean market a mile away from my house that sells kabocha squash for really cheap, so I pedaled over to get my squash fix. I also got strawberries and onions, but I let the squash ride shotgun on the way back.

I can only imagine what my neighbors think of me photographing a squash sitting on my bike.

The squash and I shared some good times, but unfortunately for Mr. Kabocha, I enjoy squash the most in my belly πŸ™‚

I made a quinoa flax pizza crust and topped it with the squash, caramelized onions, feta, and dried cranberries. Never gets old.

Did you have any goals for February?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Bye, February!

  1. mmmmmm I never get tired of feta, cranberries and kabocha! ❀

  2. Amanda says:

    I struggle with getting in 64 ounces of water a day. Sparkling water has really helped me! But yeah, I have to pee ALL the time!

  3. Yeah for abs! πŸ˜€

    I want to go to bed earlier, and continue upping my workouts. πŸ™‚

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  4. Kat says:

    Yay for goals!! I need to set some too, I guess I should prbably get going on that huh? lol

  5. Kristina says:

    I like those goals, I think i’m going to steal your water goal!!!! I keep falling off the wagon:(

  6. Jenny says:

    After seeing so many posts with February goals I definitely think I need to make some March goals and post it up somewhere. I love a good incentive πŸ™‚

  7. greekmelie says:

    Kabocha, feta and cranberries! That sounds amazing! I am pretty sure I had something to comment on the rest of the post, but for the time being I am stuck looking and drooling over your dinner..

  8. Hannah says:

    Oh, I COMPLETELY understand about the water! So many times I’ve tried to drink more water, but then I get days like yesterday where I have to rush to the bathroom eight times in between 8am and 3pm because I do drink more. What the?!

  9. My goal every month it seems is to find more balance between work and home life. Between teaching and coaching, it seems I spend more time at school than anywhere else!

  10. Casey says:

    Your bladder will get used to the water over time. Just think of how great it will make your skin look πŸ˜‰ GLOW-ING!

  11. I drink TONS of water – always have. I remember in high school, one of my teachers made me go to the bathroom before he would let the class start our midterm. I INSISTED that I didnt have to go, and he said he knew that I would in half an hour, and I couldnt leave during the test. πŸ™‚

  12. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    February definitely goes by even faster than the other months! πŸ™‚ I think that short-term goals (weekly or so) are definietly easier to achieve, especially it’s about building new habits. I tend to delay into oblivion otherwise.

    A goal I’ve recently set was to become more social and more socially active (e.g., call people, meet friends), and it worked quite well, and I had some very nice friend time. I’ll go on with that!

  13. Jennifer says:

    I feel a little better now – I absolutely did not meet my goals for February. Eh, well. At least today’s a new day. And I totally feel you on the water thing. Since I’m a teacher, I can’t hit the restroom whenever I feel like it, so I have to plan my water intake accordingly. Sigh.

  14. AlisonM says:

    Uh, look at your amazing weather! And good job on not getting discouraged and giving up on the workout just because the park was closed πŸ™‚

    I don’t set specific goals for the month, as I can easily get dragged down if I don’t stick to them, rather than focusing on the GOOD stuff that I’ve been doing. I have been setting mini weekly goals though. Drink more water is my current one. I’m just as useless as you!

  15. dw i totally failed my yoga goal!! and i didnt make any others.. but im thinking about doing it for this month!! hope your weekly ones go well πŸ˜€

  16. Good idea about the weekly goals!! I’m sure you’ll acheive them! πŸ˜€

    And I TOTALLY loved that squash on the bike thing!! HA my neighbours think I’m mad too, so it’s totally ok! πŸ˜›

  17. Lee says:

    I have a hard time drinking water too. I keep a bottle of it on my desk at all times, but sometimes I only refill it once. I think it’s a 16 oz bottle.

  18. BrittFit says:

    my goal is to let spring come in and put me in a good mood..and out of these winter blues!

  19. You might not have hit all the goals, but you still got in some great workouts, a great race, and had some amazing eats right???? I say that’s a win πŸ˜‰

  20. Errign says:

    I didn’t really have February goals except to keep on keepin’ on, but I do have 5 March goals – run 43 miles, drink 100 oz water/day, 40 pushups/day, have “me time” and keep my eating healthy & real πŸ™‚

  21. runyogarepeat says:

    I think I need to post my goals on a giant poster on my wall, so I don’t forget them. I’ve been doing abs more cause I’ve been going to an abs attack class, plus, I actually love abs. That quinoa flax pizza sounds amazinggg!

  22. biz319 says:

    I think my neighbors are used to me now bringing out plates of food to get a better picture in nature light – I don’t even care anymore! πŸ˜€

    I love your bike!

  23. Alaina says:

    I really try to make an effort to drink a lot of water every day. I always have a water bottle with me.

    I think you did great on your goals! I didn’t really have any, haha. It’s just been a long month for me. Looking forward to March! πŸ˜‰

  24. Peggy says:

    My main goal for February was to finish that 5k… and I did! So goal accomplished! =)

  25. Mandy says:

    I’ve heard of a cookie, cake, ice cream, chip craving, but never a squash craving:) You are too funny! I try to make weekly goals to help me stay accountable. For instance, this week I’m giving up soda and candy. I don’t eat a lot of either, but every once in awhile I go for it! Baby steps…
    And BTW: once you get in the water habit, the peeing all the time will be less frequent. At first you might be heading to the bathroom every 1/2 hour, but your body will get used to it eventually!

  26. it looks so gorgeous where you live! Nice job with your goals – I love listing everything out like that. My main goal for Feb was to heal up my injury and get back to running, which I’ve done (I think)!

  27. Awesome goals πŸ™‚ Ab work is easy to slack on!
    However, I always feel like February draaaggggs on.

  28. I love picking up kabocha at the Asian market… SO much cheaper than at Whole Paycheck! πŸ˜€

  29. Haha – I love the photo of the squash on your bike πŸ™‚
    I try to make goals on a weekly basis – that way I’m more likely to know what’s coming up which might alter my routine and can accommodate it. You can also adjust if something’s not working and all is not lost.

  30. I struggle with water as well! I dont know why but I just hate to drink!! I will think I just chugged a bunch and then when I look at the bottle the water line has barely moved!

  31. OliePants says:

    I had goals of staying more active which I did. But, now I need to kick it up and curb the bad eating! I love your goals and how honest you were with them!

  32. Danielle says:

    Good luck with your weekly goals!
    Aww, I’m sorry to hear that Colorado might not work out 😦

  33. hey – even if your goals didn’t work out like you had planned, at least you gave them a shot! Evaluating the “failures” helps to set you up for “successes” in the future!

  34. I am so bad about getting in water! Even just a glass of water. It’s awful. When I’m cold, I don’t think about being thirsty. I just think about being cold and wanting warm comforting food, haha! It’s a lot easier for me to get the water in during the summer when I’m hot all the time. πŸ˜‰

  35. Kat says:

    I don’t really know that I had any specific goals, but I definitely improved my meal planning skills this month.

  36. I’m horrible at drinking water, too. I get most of my water drinking done during workouts, actually! Other times I have to flavor it somehow to make it a bit more interesting.

  37. Gina says:

    Great goals! I really need to drink more water too!

  38. Abs are seriously the hardest part for me to get motivated to work out. No idea why- because it’s the part I want to work on the most! wtf?

  39. Mmm, that dinner looks delish! I always eat my kabocha plain. I forget to try it with other stuff!

    Why didn’t anyone eat your enchilada casserole? You can’t go wrong with Mexican! I gladly would’ve come over to help myself, but sommmmmmebody never invited me! 😦

    My goals for the year are going so-so. Been doing well on working out, drinking water, and sleep for the most part, but my “read one book a month” thing…total fail! I haven’t even read ONE!! I suck!

Leave a Reply

