Thou Shalt Not Fear Pancakes

Happy Pancake Day!

Did you celebrate today? I eat pancakes pretty frequently, so of course I had to make some today too πŸ™‚

I made whole wheat pancakes with strawberries and maple syrup for breakfast. Hit the spot!

Lunch was a black bean and hummus wrap with an apple and peanut butter. I should have made savory pancakes!

I’m out of pumpkin again… damn! Plain vanilla yogurt it was. At least I still have cinnamon Cheerios πŸ™‚

Strawberries were on sale, so I didn’t feel bad about eating the whole pint.

Dinner didn’t involve pancakes either- but it tasted like dessert! I brought roasted broccoli and roasted kabocha with maple syrup to work.

And clementines for an after work snack πŸ™‚

Unfortunately, I did not observe Pancake Day at all last year. Why?

Because I was too obsessed with counting calories to vary my regular breakfast routine. I used to enter every single food I ate in an online journal to keep track of my calories. It can be a huge pain to find out the nutritional info for food, so to make it easy on myself, I ate pretty much the same thing for breakfast, lunch, and dinner every day. This way, I knew what was ‘safe’ and what wasn’t.

I even remember hearing about Pancake Day last year and spending my free time in between classes trying to create a low calorie pancake recipe. After many tries, I gave up. Flour (even whole wheat flour) had become a ‘fear food’ for me. 100 calories for 1/4 cup?! Never! Looking back on it now, it seems ridiculous, but there was no way I was going to let myself eat a breakfast that had more calories than normal.

Now, I eat pancakes at least once a week. And why shouldn’t I? They taste great, and I’ve made some great (healthy!) ones!

I’ve made whole wheat pancakes…

Matt’s pumpkin oatmeal pancakes…

Kat’s protein pancakes (that I couldn’t flip so they turned into pancake scramble!)

Carrot cake pancakes…

Monica’s peanut flour pancakes…

I’ve even put lentils in pancakes!

Moral of the story? Pancakes should be loved, not feared. I’m never turning my back on them again πŸ™‚

Enough about my former pancake phobias.Β  It’s a brand new month (rabbit rabbit!) and that means I have some goals! Weekly ones, mind you.

This week’s goals:

  • Don’t snack after dinner. A little fruit is fine, but I would really like to wake up not full for once!
  • Wake up early on Tuesdays and Thursdays to exercise before class. I’m off to a good start already. I was up at 5 to go to the gym. Feels so good!
  • Drink 64 oz of water every day. Since I failed at this last month, I thought I would try it out again this week and see if I could stick with it. At the rate I’m going, I should be good by the end of the night.
  • Incorporate a small strength training session every day. Another one of my goals last month was to do ab work, and I started doing push-ups in January, but I haven’t continued either one. My goal for this week is to do 50 (modified!) push-ups a day and 5 minutes (broken up!) of planks a day as well. Done for today πŸ™‚
  • Be in bed at 10. There’s no need for me to be up later than that. I don’t do homework that late, so when I go to bed later than I should it’s because I can’t get off the computer. That needs to change!
  • Follow week 2 of half marathon training. So far, so good!

Here’s what my training looks like for this week:

Speedwork was on the agenda this morning. My calf randomly started bothering me about a minute into the run, so I broke it up into three 10 minute intervals. Better than nothing, right? I ended up running almost 3.5 miles in 30 minutes altogether. I also did 30 minutes on the elliptical. I’m so tired now!

Two questions:

Do you have any goals for this week?

and…

Have you ever had any fear foods? I pretty much feared most foods this time last year- but that’s for a whole other post!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Thou Shalt Not Fear Pancakes

  1. Priyanka says:

    Happy Pancake day! I had roasted veggies for breakfast too. I have always and still fear heavy cream, I know it is not a conventional food to fear but any recipe that calls for heavy cream makes me cringe.

  2. Heather R says:

    Oddly enough I used to fear Peanut Butter, that’s blasphemy to me now!

    And no goals this week, but next week I start boot camp…getting nervous!

  3. Ohmygosh I love pancakes! πŸ˜€

    No worries, I totally eat a whole pint of strawberries at a time. πŸ˜€ They are SO good!

    One of my goals this week is to workout everyday. πŸ™‚

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  4. Casey says:

    I know if I have a tub of ice cream in the freezer, I wont be able to control myself. Plus I prefer froyo instead.
    This way I have to travel to get my ice-cold-treat fix. I think it makes it more of a ‘treat’ this way too.

    Btw, I really like that cool looking placemat lurking beneath the kabocha mix.

  5. Happy Pancake Day to you too!
    I love pancakes especially when they are healthier.

    I should also make it a goal of mine to go to bed earlier

  6. Hannah says:

    How wonderful that you were able to kick out your demons in favour of pancakes. Hurrah! And I really do need to make pancakes sometime…

  7. greekmelie says:

    Wait, you mean that the box of strawberries is not a single serving? It’s supposed to be eaten in more than one sittings? You totally shuttered my world right there… My fear food would be chips. I feared them and still do, because I know that it is absolutely impossible for me to eat a logical amount of them. It’s me, not them, but it’s better if we keep our distances…

  8. Emily says:

    I didn’t celebrate national pancake day 😦 I was too busy with school today!

    I don’t have any fear foods, but I have foods that I won’t eat daily because I know that they’re not the best choices. Bagels were my downfall for a long time, I probably ate them like 4 or 5 times a week (there’s the best bagel place two minutes from campus), but I realized they’re kind of empty calories. Now I treat myself to one every two-ish weeks and I really enjoy it πŸ˜€

    Good luck with your weekly goals!!!!

  9. kat says:

    Congrats for getting over that fear. Pancakes rock. I could so eat them everyday!!
    Btw, I so know you’ve got some boy pushups in there!! Build your way up girl, don’t under estimate your strength πŸ™‚

  10. No use in being afraid of pancakes! You go girl πŸ™‚

    I woulda made pancakes today, I even considered making them for dinner (when I have a kitchen I can use in the dorms) but I was too tired/lazy… Sigh :/

    I did celebrate PB day with a big ole spoonful of peanut butter… but I guess that’s every day πŸ˜›

  11. I am a huge pancake fan and don’t make them nearly often enough… I need to fix that!

  12. Happy Pancake Day! Mmm, I had steebies on my pancakes too! I’ve been finding the juiciest berries at Sam’s lately and I’ve been eating them like it’s my job!

    I used to fear fat…like big time! I bought fat free milk, sour cream, cheese, low-fat breads, crackers, etc. If the label boasted low fat or fat free, it was in my cart! I’m so glad that I woke up and “smelled the bacon” one day! Eating the way I was wasn’t doing anything good for my body…if anything, I actually gained weight! I also never realized that the lower in fat something is means the more processed it is which equals strange ingredients and minimal nutrition! Now, the only thing I eat that is fat free or low fat are my greek yogurt and cottage cheese, and that’s just because I prefer the taste/texture!

  13. YAY for pancake loving!! they deserve to get lovin- no fear!! I do have some goals.. – will post tomorrow!! seriously you eat THE BEST PANCAKES

  14. Ashley says:

    Oh you had me at pancakes! yum. I definitely had fear foods, especially last year, but mine was a bit more general. I had calorie rules. I feared any meal that was over 300 calories. 900 calories a day seemed like a pretty good number to me. Wrong. I love your weekly goal post! My goal for this week to get my laundry done and go home.

  15. Jessica says:

    I agree, pancakes should not be feared! My favorite are Denny’s whole wheat pancakes.

  16. Sruthi says:

    The only fear food I had was plain flavorless yogurt. Apart from that I was good at trying all kinds of food. I love experimenting with food.

  17. I did not celebrate – not a big pancake fan actually. Though, I must say, I love the variety you make! I think that’s great (lots of fun). Let’s see, I have one huge goal this week – make it through my first half marathon. I think it’s the mental issues first and foremost….so goal is to chill out!

  18. Good luck with week 2 of training!!

    And I cannot believe I missed Pancake Day. I would have celebrated, for sure! Guess I’ll just have to make up for it soon… πŸ™‚

  19. Hooray for strawberries on sale!! πŸ™‚ And I love pancakes! So yummy!

  20. Jenny says:

    So many pancake pictures!!! Yummm πŸ™‚ Pancakes are one of my favorite foods for breakfast. I track calories too, have you tried using Lose It? I find it to be most convenient for calorie counting. And strawberries were on sale here too!! 3 for $5 woohooo

  21. mmm – pancakes are one of my FAVE breakfasts EVER! I should’ve made some yesterday to celebrate pancake day! : )

  22. Yum. I got my free stack from I-hop πŸ™‚

  23. Kayla says:

    I fear the mess that making pancakes brings to my kitchen! Haha, I looove pancakes but I hate hovering over the stove waiting to let them flip. And I can never get the temp of the stove just right so that the cook evenly, they’re always over or under cooked. Haha

  24. Mackenzie says:

    Heyy,

    Unrelated question — where do you get pumpkin yogurt? Do you just mix in pumpkin puree or do you get it pre-packaged somewhere?

    And, I love your blog. ❀

  25. Erica D says:

    Desserts are definitely my trigger foods, and I’ve been binging a lot lately (you don’t see that on the blog!), so I’m trying to keep them out of my diet for a little while. I miss and need vegetables!

    I’m so glad you can enjoy your pancakes this year! πŸ˜‰

  26. What a great way to spend National Pancake Day! Yours look super tasty. Pancakes only show up in our house on weekends, so I’ll have to wait a couple more days to celebrate πŸ™‚

    Your goals look great, and many congrats to you for getting over your fear foods from last year and finding yourself in a better place now! I’m with you on the water-chugging goal–I definitely need to increase my H20 intake at least by a glass a day!

  27. paijery says:

    Holy pancake love!! And I totally eat the whole pint of strawberries in one sitting too!
    Love your goals for this month! xo

  28. Mandy says:

    I do count calories, but I don’t “fear” any foods. If I want something that is higher in calories, I just try to make up for it by eating less the rest of the day, or getting in an extra workout.
    I love the do the mini strength training session every day! What a great way to get some resistance training in! And you can do that while watching TV or something-great!

  29. AlisonM says:

    I’m so glad you found your love of pancakes again πŸ™‚ And thanks for sharing on fear foods. I think it’s good to be reminded the disordered places we can go with some seemingly innocent calorie counting. Good on you for moving past it.

    Goal for me this week: hydration. So far it’s going well. Like you I should also be trying to get to be earlier though too.. One thing at a time though!

  30. runyogarepeat says:

    I love your goals, good luck! You should work to 5 min straight in plank, that would be hard. I try to do 2 or 3 planks of 60-90 seconds a few times a week.

  31. Nuts were a big fear food for me – I eat them every day now πŸ™‚

  32. Lisa says:

    agree—pancakes should be loved! I love them…a lot.

    I have had fear foods in the past. Now, I don’t so much. But I’ve really changed what I want to eat, so things aren’t tempting like they used to be. I think when I focused on weight, it felt like fear…now that I’m focusing on health outcomes, it feels like logic!

    Great post!

  33. Peggy says:

    I wish I would have known about Pancake Day! I guess I’ll have to celebrate late!

    I don’t have any food aversions… I believe in the whole “try anything once” mantra!

  34. Our pancake day’s not till next Tuesday – but I’m going to make sure I celebrate it in style!
    I haven’t got any goals… I should join you on the no snacking after dinner one though
    πŸ™‚
    And so glad you’re not in the same place as last year x

  35. Erika says:

    Sorry to hear about your ex-fear of pancakes. They are so good, I’d never be able to give them up!

    How were the lentil pancakes, BTW? They sound interesting! πŸ˜€

  36. I know *exactly* how you felt. Flour was a major “danger” food..and for that reason, I didn’t celebrate Pancake Day last year either. I didn’t celebrate this year simply because I found out about it too late..but I sure would have!

  37. Olivia says:

    I am OBSESSED with the new cinnamon cheerios! OMG they are seriously sooo good! haha that bean and hummus wrap sounds fab. too; I’ve had like 4 in the last 3 days…yum!

  38. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    Whee, great goals! Mine is to eat more fat and get to the gym at least once. Let’s see how that works. πŸ˜‰

  39. I heart pancakes! I didn’t celebrate yesterday (sadly), but that’s because they’re usually a special weekend thing for me. πŸ™‚

  40. Lee says:

    I’m glad you have gotten over your fear of pancakes. I used to fear white flour, but have since gotten over that. I prefer whole wheat, but somethings have refined flour in them and they’re okay to eat too.

  41. Errign says:

    Oohhhh I missed pancake day. Guess I will need to celebrate retroactively soon πŸ™‚

    I don’t think I have any fear foods, but I am super conscious of how much of something that’s high calorie that I’m eating…

  42. I used to fear pancakes as well and now I eat them once a week!!
    I also have the same goal as going to bed at 10pm. How do you think thats working out for me?

  43. Kat says:

    I don’t have weekly goals, per-se. But as for fear foods…I usually stay away from pasta unless I’m dining with others.

  44. BrittFit says:

    Wow these pancakes look amazing! I love your goals too I bet you can do them all especially the early wake up one πŸ˜‰

  45. Katrina says:

    Wow just came across your blog and I have to say that I have to try all those pancake recipes! They all look amazing! The goal that I have this week is to become more active and stick to my running plan(couch to 5k). There is the race for the cure next month in Savannah and I want to run it in 30 minutes so I got some work to do! Love your blog!

  46. Your pancakes look mighty tasty! (Along with the rest of your food!!)

    Great blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xx
    Delightful Bitefuls

  47. Carlyn says:

    I feel you on the pancake thing.. I used to fear LOTS of healthy food just because it was too high calorie. Beans were strictly measured, whole grain dense bread was a no-no (100 calories a slice compared to the airy 50 cal slices I was eating), and don’t get me started on peanut butter! Now I realize that these are all healthy things and that calories are not meant to be counted but to be enjoyed (:
    And I missed pancake day this year ): (forgot about it) I’ll have to make up for it with some pancakes this weekend! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

