Ice, Ice, Baby

Happy Hump Day!

I like Wednesdays this semester. When my classes are done for the day, it means that I don’t have math until Monday πŸ™‚

I had grand plans of doing my 5 mile run right after class today, but then I decided I should do homework, which turned into running an errand for my mom… and then grocery shopping… by the time I got home, my motivation was gone!

I didn’t end up going until past 4, but I got in 5 miles in 44:50– 8:58 pace. I was quite pleased, considering that as soon as I started running, I started getting weird pains in my legs. Not quite my calves- is there a term for ‘the part of the leg underneath the calf?’ I tried to find a picture, but don’t ever Google ‘legs.’ Take my word for this.

I started panicking a little during my run because exactly one year ago, I experienced my first running injury- a random, sharp pain in the bottom of my foot that bothered me for two months. I don’t know what it was, because I never went to the doctor (shame!)

So in order to prevent further injuries, I’m going to be adhering to my normal injury prevention methods.

Icing-

And ice cream!

I feel better already πŸ™‚

Have you ever been injured? How do you prevent injuries?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Ice, Ice, Baby

  1. Casey says:

    Icing and Ice-cream. the perfect post-run recovery!
    I’m an avid believer in foam rolling and rehydration.

  2. Ellie says:

    Ohhh I hope you get healed quickly! To be honest, I just fell on my elbow when I was little and didn’t fracture it–just got swollen and wore a hankey around my neck haha! But I can’t be much help on this.

  3. Deep to the calf muscles (the gastroc) is the soleus, and both the gastroc and soleus attach to the heel via the calcaneal tendon. My anatomy lessons in massage therapy school are paying off, booya!! πŸ˜€ I hope the ice (and ice cream!) does the trick for you hon!

  4. I was training for my half last year and got runners knee, it was awful. Luckily I managed to get better in time for my race but I had to foam roll and ice all the time!

  5. AlisonM says:

    Below your calves could indicate an achilles problem. Standing on a step and dropping your heel down off it is a good stretch for that. And nice pace!

  6. Hannah says:

    I get really odd injuries that come out of nowhere… two years ago, my foot started playing up, and now it’s been two surgeries, lots of showering with plastic bags, and I’m still too scared to do any serious exercise again… Good on you for icing and ice-creaming!

  7. Omg, that ice cream would definitely make me forget about any leg pains! Good for you for taking the preventative route with the icing! Nice run time by the way! :))

    I’ve only had one injury (knock on wood) that wasn’t running related…just related to my mad clutzy skills, but it took me out of running for months and I hated every minute of it! I’m just now getting to a point where I can run without any pain, but sometimes I have to ice to help prevent swelling. I try my best to be in tune with my body and pay attention to aches and pains so that I don’t injury myself…and stretching is always key!

  8. sounds like your Achilles? Take care of it girlie – I know first hand what a pain in the ass Achilles injuries are. Ice and rest/cross train!

  9. icing and ice cream.. ARE THE BEST REMEDIES!!! hope it is okay!
    never have been badly injured.. just pulled my groin a few times from bball and a few knee problems- annoying!

  10. I love how ice cream makes everything better

  11. Oh yes, been injured. Had a major IT band blow out, have constant issues with piriformis. I am a huge advocate for rolling and stretching.

  12. Alaina says:

    Love your recovery food! πŸ˜‰

    I injured my knees last year while training for the marathon. I didn’t do enough cross training and pretty much wore them out. I had to take a few weeks off to rest them. They are much better now though and I’ll be better for my next big race!

  13. Gina says:

    Oh no! Hope it gets better soon. Injuries are no fun, but ice cream is a great medicine πŸ™‚

  14. Emily says:

    Ice cream is always the best medicine πŸ˜‰ I hope you feel better soon!!

  15. Kat says:

    im usually always walking around with an injury during soccer season. ive had so many sprained ankles that you can pop my ankles in and out

  16. Could it be your Achilles? That’s where my muscle tightness is and I’m trying to figure out WHY I have so much tightness there.

    Do as I say, not as I uh…did. Use the RICE technique (rest, ice, compress, and elevate). I wish I had done this at the first notice of pain, but of course I was stubborn and ran through mine for 2 weeks. And you know what it did to me. 😦

    Hope it heals quickly! πŸ˜€ Sending good vibes your way!

  17. Haha! I love your “ice and icecream” method! Perfect! πŸ™‚

  18. Ice cream makes everything better. AWESOME RUN!!! I am happy that you love Wednesdays this semester!! Keep on icing gorgeous girl!

  19. Is it below your calf? It might be your achilles tendon.

  20. I get shin splints but thats about it! Ice cream fixes everything πŸ™‚

  21. As you know I’m injured at the moment 😦 Every time I go to a health professional they seem to find a new injury!! I have wonky bio-mechanics, so I’m getting that sorted to prevent further injury. I’m icing like crazy at the moment.
    I hope the pain in your leg goes away soon!

  22. Love ice cream you can never have too much!

  23. runyogarepeat says:

    Ooh, hope it doesn’t turn into an injury!
    It’s always funny to see what people search for in google, I love the choices they show below when I’m typing something in.

  24. Icing and ice cream, what a great strategy!!!

  25. Jenny says:

    Cookies and cream ice cream can make any injury of mine feel better lol πŸ™‚

  26. OliePants says:

    Ice cream solves a lot of my problems! Thank goodness I have not been seriously injured but I did hurt my back once from running. I just took it easy for the next days and stretched!

  27. Dude, ice cream is essential πŸ˜‰

  28. Lisa says:

    I don’t do a lot to prevent injuries…except to try and be moderately active and not overdo workouts…

    Ice cream helps everything!

  29. Carlyn says:

    Kate, I have the SAME problem with the bottom of my foot too! Unlike your situation, though, I get the sharp pain about once a day or every other day and I have to stop and cringe for a second until the sharp pain goes away. I feel it right in the arch of my foot but have never talked to my doctor about it. You think it was the same thing you were feeling?

  30. Kat says:

    I’ve never been to the doctor but I’ve definitely had injuries. I go the heating method because it’s so soothing when I go to sleep.

  31. My legs are a constant worry for me. I had a really bad stress reaction that kept me sidelined for about 2 months last year. Ever since then, I try to be good about laying off as soon as I feel something weird going on… and icing. So keep up the icing!!!

  32. I have weak hips. They pinch and hurt all the time. I try and avoid problems by doing hip strengthening exercises all the time, but its not always enough. I’m off of running right now actually. It sucks.

  33. Monica says:

    It sounds like your Achilles is bugging you. I wear my spin shoes and put my foot up against the wall to get a good stretch through that area. I also do a downward dog to help my calves loosen up.

    Good luck with that soreness!

  34. Haha, Ice Cream definitely cures everything. πŸ™‚ Especially Banana “Ice Cream.” πŸ˜‰

    xoxo
    Kathleen

Leave a Reply

